Homestead Exemption

The Broward County Home Appraiser Office organizes a series of community events each month throughout Broward County. Assistant assessors are available to assist with Homestead Senior and other property tax exemption requests and to answer property tax questions.


They also accept porting requests. The outreach program is designed to provide a convenient and accessible service to Broward County residents. Public events are listed on the site.

Details About Homestead Exemption

Documents required to file an exemption include:

  • Current Florida driver’s license or Florida ID card
  • Valid voter ID or address declaration
  • Proof of permanent residency for non-US citizens is also required.
  • The Broward County Office of the Real Estate Adviser will be at City Hall on the fourth Monday of each month from 10:30 am to 12 pm at Lighthouse Point to help residents apply for a property waiver.

If you own your home, live there permanently, and have resided in Florida since January 1, you may qualify for the property exemption. Homestead can reduce the appraised value of your home by as much as $50,000, saving you around $750 a year.

Most importantly, your assessed value, which is used to determine the net worth tax, cannot increase by more than 3% per year after receiving the exemption. Do not use it before March 1 of the year for an immunity waiver that year and you must apply for it for the following year. You must meet the list of requirements below as of January 1st.


Applications are due on March 1st every year. Failure to file a waiver of liens for the year under Florida law by March 1. Our office sends a release package to new homeowners approximately 6-8 weeks after the deed is recorded in county records.

For more information, visit the Broward County Property Appraiser website or call the Department of Extension at 954-357-5579.